

Association of Sri Lankan Neurologists

6, Wijerama Mawatha, Colombo 7, Sri Lanka Tel: +94 (0)11 2687787, +94 (0)76 8709587 Email: <u>office@asn.lk</u> Website: https://asn.lk/

10th June 2023

To the dean of

Patron Dr JB Peiris

President Dr Pyara Ratnayake

President-Elect Dr Saraji Wijesekara

Immediate Past President Dr Darshana Sirisena

Joint Secretaries Dr Kumarangie Vithanage Dr Manjula Caldera

Treasurer Dr Kishara Gooneratne

Co-Editors Prof. Thashi Chang Prof. Jithangi Wanigasinghe

Council Members

Prof. Saman Gunatilake Dr MTM Riffsy Prof. Udaya Ranawaka Dr Padma Gunaratne Dr Bimsara Senanayake Dr Arjuna Fernando Dr AT Alibhoy Dr Senaka Bandusena Dr Darshana Wijegunasingha Dr Gamini Pathirana Dr Kamal Gunaratne Dr Ajantha Keshwaraj Dr Surangi Somaratne Dr Dilum Palliyaguruge Dr Sanjaya Fernando Dr Saamir Mohideen Dr Anomali Vidanagamage Faculty of Medicine University of Colombo Faculty of Medicine University of Jaffna Faculty of Medicine University of Peradeniya Faculty of Medicine University of Ruhuna Faculty of Medicine University of Kelaniya Faculty of Medical Sciences University of Sri Jayewardenepura Faculty of Medicine & Allied Sciences Rajarata University of Sri Lanka Faculty of Healthcare Sciences Eastern University of Sri Lanka Faculty of Medicine Wayamba University of Sri Lanka Faculty of Medicine General Sir John Kotelawala Defense University (KDU) Faculty of Medicine Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka Faculty of Medicine University of Moratuwa

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Video competition for Medical Students for World Brain Day 2023

I hope this letter finds you well. I am writing on behalf of the Association of Sri Lankan Neurologists (ASN), to inform you about a video competition organized by us, in line with World Brain Day 2023, specifically tailored for medical students.

"World Brain Day" is an annual global event celebrated on the 22nd of July, dedicated to raising awareness about various neurological conditions and encouraging the adoption of healthy brain habits. This year's theme is "Brain Health and Disability" and the specific objectives for this year can be found at the World Federation of Neurology website https://wfneurology.org/world-brain-day-2023.

The video competition aims to engage aspiring doctors in raising awareness about neurological disorders and promoting brain health. Each university can submit up to **5 videos** along the theme for this year, each video being of **1-minute** duration. The submissions should be sent **on or before the 10th of July 2023** to <u>office@asn.lk.</u>

The winners will receive a cash prize and will be selected by a qualified panel of judges. The entries will be evaluated based on criteria such as content, creativity, and presentation.



Association of Sri Lankan Neurologists

6, Wijerama Mawatha, Colombo 7, Sri Lanka Tel: +94 (0)11 2687787, +94 (0)76 8709587 Email: <u>office@asn.lk</u> Website: https://asn.lk/

Kindly note that as organizers of the competition, we will retain the copyright to the videos submitted by the participating students. We will be disseminating the videos through our social media platforms while acknowledging the students and the faculty responsible for producing them.

We kindly request your support in promoting this video competition among your students.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. We eagerly anticipate your support and cooperation in promoting and organizing the video competition with your university. If you have any questions or require further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thanking you,

Yours truly,

Jack Goolonie

Dr Pyara Ratnayake President Association of Sri Lankan Neurologists

Patron Dr JB Peiris

President Dr Pyara Ratnayake

President-Elect Dr Saraji Wijesekara

Immediate Past President Dr Darshana Sirisena

Joint Secretaries Dr Kumarangie Vithanage Dr Manjula Caldera

Treasurer Dr Kishara Gooneratne

Co-Editors Prof. Thashi Chang Prof. Jithangi Wanigasinghe

Council Members

Prof. Saman Gunatilake Dr MTM Riffsy Prof. Udaya Ranawaka Dr Padma Gunaratne Dr Bimsara Senanayake Dr Arjuna Fernando Dr AT Alibhoy Dr Senaka Bandusena Dr Darshana Wijegunasingha Dr Gamini Pathirana Dr Kamal Gunaratne Dr Ajantha Keshwaraj Dr Surangi Somaratne Dr Dilum Palliyaguruge Dr Sanjaya Fernando Dr Saamir Mohideen Dr Anomali Vidanagamage